Woes of a College Student aka Why I Need to Make Use of the Kindle My Dad Gifted Me

I live in a hostel room that is, for real, 7feet by 7feet in area. I’ve seen closets that are bigger. And it is filthy. Now, I by no means am trying to shift blame because I truly am one of nature’s messy persons. It is ridiculous that people like me haven’t died out ages ago from living in squalor and getting diseases. It’s one of the failures of evolution, I suppose.

Nonetheless, here I am, alive, kicking and a voracious reader to boot. Anyway, the point I’m trying to make is, (and future college-goers everywhere need to remember this lesson) it’s a terrible idea to try and fit close to a hundred books (not including my academic books) into such a tiny space!

My home, with my big room is itself currently overflowing with books, with me literally having to keep some books on the floor, and on my bed, and on a chair, etc. There are books on a little makeshift shelf in the bathroom.

In fact, I’m almost thankful to those imbeciles who borrow and don’t return my books because the vacuum left by those books gets filled up in no time.

In other words, I am Sindhu Rao and I have a problem.

Much like the Earth, and – dare I say it – on what is likely a larger scale, I am facing an over-population problem. Especially in my aforementioned tiny room. I seriously considered throwing out some of my clothes to make space for my books. I also considered throwing away my bed, but that’s stupid because then, there wouldn’t be any space for the books under my bed.

Therefore, the time has come. I resisted it greatly but I must cave. The kindle my dad gave me a year ago is all of 7 inches long and it is slim and lightweight.

I began to warm up to the idea of using it when I was able to read The Goblet of Fire in an atrociously dull class without being observed. It was easy. Instead of a bulky paperback, I was reading it on a tiny Kindle. It was magical.

Well, I have finally decided to take the leap. I will dust off the poor neglected Kindle once I get home today and connect it to my WiFi and then – we will see. Will it be the beginning of a long-overdue love affair or will my resolve fizzle out? Only time will tell. (Dramatics aside though, I haven’t much choice if I want to keep reading.) I take solace in Stephen Fry’s words of wisdom: “Books are no more threatened by Kindle than stairs by elevators.”

 

7 thoughts on “Woes of a College Student aka Why I Need to Make Use of the Kindle My Dad Gifted Me

  1. I hear you! My mum has forbidden me to buy any more books (there’s no more room in the house!).
    A Kindle is magical. The only thing you can’t do with a Kindle is to smell it from time-to-time for comfort, as you would do with a realbook. But Lord knows, I’ve tried that too 😛

  2. I still love books and I wouldn’t say I’m a Kindle convert but I’ve been using one for about a year now – about 50/50 with books. If I really love the book I’ll probably still buy it but this saves lots of clutter. Plus huge books are are so much easier to read.
    Lynn 😀

    • Exactly!
      Real books are irreplaceable, just like stairs are irreplaceable. And nothing can quite replicate the joy of finding a coveted book in a used bookstore. I will never become a Kindle convert. 🙂
      Big books really are easier to read on a kindle. Especially in class. 😉

Leave a Reply

