How I’m Handling A Writer’s Slump: When Writing–Fiction, Nonfiction, Blogging–Becomes Hard.

I’m suffering from this but I feel a little better after learning that somebody else, a published author to boot, is going through the same thing.
I hope I get over it soon enough.

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

I have a writer’s confession to make: I’m in a slump. Stuck in writer’s quicksand. I’m an author who can’t write.

Yep. I talk about “writing every day” as a writer’s goal, and the joys of being a writer, and I dish out hard-earned knowledge from ten years of writing, while I have no drive to write lately.

That happens to all of us from time to time, I think, but I’ve never had a period of time before where writing–all writing–was so tough.

  • I’m really struggling to find the energy and dedication to edit Writing for You: A Writer’s Guide to the Craft of Fiction. And that worries me, because I am honestly thrilled about the project and stoked for the upcoming release (July 31).
  • I haven’t worked on fiction in a month. Seriously. A month. I have a first draft of a NaNoWriMo novel that I have…

View original post 594 more words

Leave a Reply

