An Impossible Task?

I am attempting something that has been considered by many to be futile, tiresome, unrewarding and even impossible. And no, I am not referring to law school!

I am going to read, over this summer, from cover to cover, the Russian epic Anna Karenina. i have read 80 pages of it already and there’s something fascinating about it. I’m not kidding. Of course, I’ve hardly gotten through a tenth of the book so far but i did do that in less than an hour. Fingers crossed! If i do end up finishing this book, the way I couldn’t finish Lord of the Rings, that will be one item off of my book bucket list.(Boocket list?) And yes, of course i have a book bucket list! I’ll show it to you sometime. Promise.

Anyway, I put up this post because i need all the encouragement and support I can get in the completion of this endeavour of mine.

So tell me. Have any of you managed to finish Anna Karenina? Have any of you attempted to finish it? What were your impressions? (And yes, I am aware that this is going to be an epic fail because nobody will comment with replies but I still want to fish a little. 🙂 I am still young and hope is not yet dead.

I must tell you one thing though: There is one thing Anna Karenina is not, and that is a Sindhu-Certified Plane-read! Do not be alone with this book for a long time in a confined space. This is the kind of book that you must take little breaks from, and that you must mull upon. You must try to understand the characters and the significance of all the little statements in it. At least this has been my initial impression. Let’s see how I feel later on.

Speaking of little breaks, my Temple Run 2 score is 805664! And I only started playing on Tuesday! (Okay, I’m pathetic and bored. I admit it. But I’m also proud!)

In other news, I finished Looking for Alaska. There will be a review up later this week. I cannot bear to make this book an “In other news” part of the post.

Cheers everyone. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “An Impossible Task?

  1. Good luck. I haven’t read it so not sure if it will be a struggle or not. My bugbear, similar to this one is Les Miserables. Which is on my classics list to read – but I’m going to keep postponing it – until I’m literally up to No.50!
    Currently reading Dangerous Liaisons. Similarly, in small instalments.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I’ve read it, and I really enjoyed it. Although, you have to read it with intervals. It’s not one of those finish-in-one-night books. You should try War and Peace after. I really love Russian Literature!

Leave a Reply

